State Legislature

Everett E. Boone

John Addison Cooper, Representative

William Thomas Covington, served in the legislature from 1911-1915, aiding in passing the Torreyson land-title act, the bank guarantee act, and in repealing the old Tallahatchie drainage act.  He was elected to the state Senate in 1918, where he supported woman’s suffrage and secured the passage of many local drainage, road and school laws.

Manford Esca Denton

Teay Notley Gore

Francis Marion Hamblett was a delegate from Quitman County to the fourth constitution of the State of Mississippi on November 1, 1890.

Robert L. Jackson, Senator

Leopold Marks

Jiles Smith

Mississippi State Capitol building, Jackson Mississippi. Photo credit: Shawn Lea (Szlea).

Copyright © 2016
All Rights Reserved with Full Rights Reserved for Original Contributor